Board of Retirement

The Board consists of nine members and two alternate members. Four members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors, four members and an alternate safety member are elected by active members (current employees), one member and one alternate are elected by the retired members, and the County Treasurer is an ex-officio member. The Board has responsibility for administering the Retirement System, which includes oversight and investment decisions regarding approximately $3.2 billion in trust assets, establishment of actuarial rates and assumptions, adjudication of applications for disability retirement benefits, and oversight of system administration.

Regularly scheduled Board meetings are at 9:00 a.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month with limited exceptions. Meetings usually last approximately 6-8 hours, and additional special meetings occur as needed.

Pictured: Board of Retirement and Staff Members at the April 2019 Retreat.

Board Members

No. 1 Harry E. Hagen, Permanent Ex-Officio Member
No. 2 Rob Adam Perry, General Elected Member
No. 3 Xiaoli Zhang-King, General Elected Member
No. 4 Trent Benedetti, Appointed Member
No. 5 Michael Vidal, Appointed Member
No. 6 Steve Lavagnino, Appointed Member
No. 7 Frederick Tan, Safety Elected Member
No. 7A Ryan Sullivan, Alternate Safety Elected Member
No. 8   Zandra Cholmondeley, Retired Elected Member
No. 8A Gary Blair, Alternate Retired Elected Member
No. 9 Ted Sten, Appointed Member

Contact the Clerk of the Board

Dani Couture


View the full Notice of Special Election here.

On July 31, 2019, a General Trustee position on the Board of Retirement of the Santa Barbara County Employees’ Retirement System became vacant.  In accordance with the Board of Retirement elections policy, a special election will be held November 12 – December 9, 2019 to select a General Member to fill the vacancy of the 3rd General Member of the Board of Retirement. The successful candidate will serve the remaining term of the 3rd General Member beginning January 22, 2020, and ending December 31, 2020.

GENERAL member candidates must be active members of SBCERS and may not be safety or retired members.

All candidates must submit a Petition of Nomination/Declaration of Candidacy. Petitions will be available at SBCERS’ Offices, 3916 State Street, Suite 100, Santa Barbara; 2400 Professional Parkway, Suite 150, Santa Maria, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. beginning Friday, September 27, 2019 through Tuesday, October 22, 2019, or by clicking the button below:

The petition shall include the nominee’s name, certification of willingness to serve and the signatures of at least 15 but not more than 25 members of the nominee’s membership classification on a nominating petition.  The petitions and ballot statements must be returned to Santa Barbara County Clerk Recorder-Assessor’s Elections Division office at 4440-A Calle Real, Santa Barbara, or 511 E. Lakeside Parkway, Suite 134, Santa Maria, no later than 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, October 22, 2019.

Ballots containing the names of all qualified candidates and postage-paid return envelopes will be mailed to the home address of qualified voting members of the System on Tuesday, November 12, 2019, and available for pickup at the Elections offices.  Ballots must be received by the Elections office by U. S. mail or by personal delivery to the Elections office at 4440-A Calle Real, Santa Barbara, or the Santa Maria Branch Office at 511 E. Lakeside Parkway, Suite 134 before 5 p.m. on Monday, December 9, 2019.  The votes will be counted Tuesday, December 10, 2019.

Inquiries regarding this election may be made at 3916 State Street, Suite 100, Santa Barbara, or by calling (877) 568-2940, or emailing the Clerk of the Board.